Math Professor Encourages Mom To Show Up To Class With Baby…

Continuing your education is not an easy feat. What about if you’re a mom? Not only that , but a breastfeeding mom? Over two million single mothers are balancing college and motherhood. [1]  Being a parent is already a daunting task. Which can make having a job and/or attending college very difficult. Which is why people are cheering about the photo Sarah Thompson posted to her Facebook page, of her Math professor teaching the class while holding Thompson’s baby. The post has gotten over 1,000 shares and almost six thousand likes!

Moms who choose to exclusively breastfeed need to breastfeed on demand and/or pump in place, if baby is not able to nurse at that time. We often hear stories of breastfeeding moms being shamed for needing to breastfeed in a public setting, but  Professor Dr. Josie Ryan, seemed very supportive of the fact Sarah breastfeeds. Some professors are not as patient or kind about it.

professor

“She knew I’d be overwhelmed, she literally begged me to bring Isaiah to class & even showed me where the breastfeeding room in the health center was, at Lander University. It’s so reassuring to know there are professors out there like this.”

Thompson hopes that by sharing her experience it might encourage other moms to ask for help when they need it.

Sarah Thompson wrote this with the picture-

“SPREAD the word & SHARE!!- This is my Math professor Dr. Josie Ryan with my son…She is amazing. She knows I worked and continued school @ USC while pregnant this past semester&Summer & I started her class the week before I had my son in August & started attending her class again the week after I had him. She knew I’d be overwhelmed so literally begged me to bring Isaiah to class & even showed me where the breastfeeding room in the health center was at Lander University. It’s so reassuring to know there are professors out there like this. Not only is she an amazing person, she’s also one of the best math professors I’ve ever had.. Brillant really.. She’s wacky & the best kind of nerdy.. the kind I can relate to lol.. but hey!- maybe the world needs more of these teachers!.. scratch that- it DEF does! Hopefully this post will encourage other educators or moms or pregnant/working women who are students to ask for help. She’s encouraged me constantly & I’ve brought him to our Real Analysis class multiple times now & he was an angel every time. He’ll cut the cheese & make the class giggle from time to time but we still get down to some serious math in there. I am in a perfect world when I am learning math in college with my baby right next to me.. or in my teachers arms lol.. She taught like this-holding him- the whole first class I brought him to. He’s 3 weeks old in this picture. Women are on the rise going to school & working with children. And my Boyfriend & family are beyond supportive of my decision to graduate within the first year of his birth & I couldn’t do this without them. It’s hard- but with support like this, how can I lose if I trust God & believe in myself!?”

You can find the original post (HERE)

4 thoughts on “Math Professor Encourages Mom To Show Up To Class With Baby…

  1. I’m breastfeeding mum now. So much to learn about breastfed knowledge and supportive from experience mummy is so much appreciate . Let’s make my breastfed journey smooth n happy

Share your thoughts here...

